Recorded by Bruno at Onix II Studio · Barcelona · 2022
Vanesa Tomás (Soprano) on tracks ‘Sacred Spring’, ‘Camerinum’, ‘Initiation Pilgrimages’, ‘Superstition’.
Mariel Aguilar (Mezzo Soprano) on tracks ‘Camerinum’, and ‘Initiation Pilgrimages’.
Laura Masotto (Violin) on tracks ‘The Children’s Ceremony’, and ‘Collective Calamity’.
Antonio Cortesi (Violoncello) on tracks ‘The Children’s Ceremony’, ‘Collective Calamity’
Julián Kancepolski (Violoncello) on track ‘Superstition’
Analog mastered by Ian Hawgood
Cover by Javier Guglielmi

1-Sacred Spring 
3-The Children’s Ceremony
4-Initiation Pilgrimages 
5-Collective Calamity 
8-The Feast of Crows 
9-Yersinia Pestis 

“Throughout history, this expression has been used to describe various ritual group expulsions and the deduction of colonies, particularly with regard to people getting back to nature.

For example, the Italian town of Nocera was founded in the 7th Century BC by inhabitants from Camerinum, who left their ancestral homeland during a so-called Ver Sacrum.

In ancient Rome, during times of calamities such as pandemics, earthquakes, wars, or plagues, they used to devote children born in spring – from the 1st of March to the 30th of April – to the gods Jupiter and Mars. Then, when they turned 20 or 21, these children were required to leave the community to begin new settlements”

Sounding like some long lost, sacred canon, Ver Sacrum – the new album from Bruno Sanfilippo – marks something of a departure for the Barcelona-based pianist and composer. Far more orchestral in nature, there’s a spiritual, quasi-religious force to these pieces; strings swoop and soar, maudlin organs plough slowly, sorrowfully forward, while several sopranos add to the ecclesiastical air. But there’s hope and joy here too, and a childlike playfulness – playing these tensions against each other is what makes Ver Sacrum such an intense, rewarding listen. Inspired and informed by the ancient custom of ritualised expulsions of the same name, one can find the whole spectrum of humanity within these nine pieces: sorrow, loss, love, rebirth, change, hope, and the indefatigable human spirit. It’s what gives this music its power. Derek Robertson, journalist and music writer: Guardian, Independent, NME, VICE, Timeout, The Quietus, The Face.

It’s an emotional journey through the many notions of humanity. One which I implore you to explore. Absolutely exquisite in every sonic detail. Don’t miss out!” Headphone Commute.